The Department is currently an institutional member of the following academic associations: 

  • ECSR (European Consortium for Sociological Research)  
    The ECSR organizes yearly conferences and annual graduate schools. It offers visitor grants for graduate students and awards a yearly prize for the best PhD thesis among candidates from the ECSR member institutes. It provides funding to organize thematic conferences and network workshops.
  • ESA (European Sociological Association)
    The ESA aims to facilitate sociological research, teaching and communication between sociologists, sociologists and other scientists, and to give sociology a voice in European affairs. Its focus is the development of sociological knowledge. The Department is an institutional member. However, this membership brings nothing on the person level such as discounts or benefits for conference attendance.