A Jean Monnet Chair is a university chair awarded by the European Commission to support research and debate in the field of European Union integration. The chair falls within the framework of the Jean Monnet Actions and is integrated in the frame of the Erasmus + Programme for the period of 2014-2020. The objective is to reinforce teaching, research and diffusion of European integration both in Member States of the European Union and in other countries. Jean Monnet Chairs support activities which enhance the dialogue between the academic world and policy-makers with the aim of improving the governance of European Union policies. Chairs are selected through a competitive process and awarded  to professors and researchers with a high level of specialization in European integration.

In September 2015, the Commission awarded one of these chairs to the Pompeu Fabra University (UPF), to Prof. Dr. Javier Arregui, Associated Professor in the Department of Political and Social Sciences and expert in processes of decision-making and policy-making within the European Union.

The European Governance system is composed of a series of formal and informal institutions and a group of relations and processes between the 28 member states that condition the final content of European public policies. In order to improve the degree of understanding in this area, the activities of the chair will be focused on the production and diffusion of research about the European governance model, complementing this with the introduction of new activities aimed at both teaching and diffusion of current research related to European governance.