Awards and Tributes

  • Special Session at CEDYA:

  • Special Session at ICIP 2014: (Organized by Philippe Salembier, Guillermo Sapiro and Jean Serra. Link of the session not available yet.)

  • The Real Sociedad Matemática Española and Fundación BBVA  have launched the first edition of "Vicent Caselles" Awards for Mathematical research. Details and rules of the competition are on the website  

  • The first six “Vicent Caselles” awardees: The award is named after the former professor at the universities of Valencia, Pompeu Fabra and the Balearic Islands in memory of his scientific and human personality.  The Vicent Caselles awardees in this inaugural edition are Alejandro Castro Castilla (Santa Cruz de Tenerife, 1987), currently a postdoctoral investigator at the University of Uppsala (Sweden); Jezabel Curbelo Hernández (Los Realejos, Tenerife, 1987), Assistant Professor at the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (UAM), and now LIO Postdoc in the Laboratoire de Géologie de Lyon (France); Javier Fresán Leal (Pamplona, 1987), SNF Postdoctoral Fellow at the Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH) in Zurich (Switzerland); Rafael Granero Belinchón (Cuenca, 1986), Arthur J. Krener Assistant Professor at the University of California, Davis (USA); Luis Hernández Corbato (Madrid, 1986), to date a postdoctoral investigator at the Instituto de Matemática Pura e Aplicada in Río de Janeiro (Brazil); and Xavier Ros Oton (Barcelona, 1988), R. H. Bing Instructor at the University of Texas in Austin (USA).