In July 2018, Euro-Mediterranean Research Network on Migration (EuroMedMig) was launched during the 15th IMISCOE Annual Conference in Barcelona, with an initial platform of 18 Members in the Steering Committee. Countries covered are: Algeria, Belgium, Egypt, Europe (EUI), Greece, Israel, Italy, Jordan, France, Lebanon, Morocco, Palestine, Portugal, Spain, Norway, Netherlands, Tunisia and Turkey. It has received institutional support from The Union for the Mediterranean and is academically recognized as an IMISCOE Regional Network.

EuroMedMig, the Euro-Mediterranean Research Network on Migration, was created in 2018 on the occasion of the 15th IMISCOE Annual General Conference organized in Barcelona. Its core philosophy is to promote multilateral knowledge production and exchange, with partner universities from all rims of the Mediterranean, which ensures geographic representativity and plurality of perspectives. Current partner universities are:

  • University Pompeu Fabra
  • University of Sousse
  • Koç University
  • American University in Cairo
  • Harokopio University
  • University of Liège
  • Lebanese American University
  • University Côte d'Azur
  • University of New York Tirana
  • Tel Aviv University
  • Universidade de Lisboa
  • University Mohammed V Rabat
  • University of Catania

As a brief summary of EuroMedMig’s latest work, the network been recognized as an IMISCOE Regional Network, and has received institutional support from the Union for the Mediterranean (UfM). EuroMedMig was also awarded a three-year (2019-2022) Erasmus+ Jean Monnet Network Project entitled “Mapping European Mediterranean Migration Studies” (EUMedMi), which allowed the platform’s consolidation.