Students must complete 60 ECTS credits (European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System)

Compulsory courses:  25 ECTS (5 courses)
Optional courses:       15 ECTS (3 courses)
Final Master thesis:    20 ECTS

All courses are 5 ECTS credits (European Credit Transfer System) except specified otherwise. The Master is taught entirely in English. 


Module 1 (compulsory): Methods and Research Techniques (15 ECTS credits) 

  • Qualitative Research Methods 

  • Fundamentals of Political and Social Research 

  • Political Theory in the 21st Century 


Module 2 (compulsory): Fundamentals of Political Theory and Political Science (10 ECTS credits) 

  • Democracy and Political Liberalism: theoretical and institutional features 

  • Federalism and Federations: political theory and comparative politics 


Module 3 (elective courses): Deepening in some areas of Political Theory and Political Sciences (15 ECTS - choose three courses)*

  • Current Research on Diverse Democracies 
  • Discourse Analysis 
  • Diversity and Immigration Policies
  • Diversity, Discrimination and Citizenship 
  • Electoral Systems
  • Immigration Governance 
  • Migration and Society
  • Nationalism Today 
  • Politics and Gender 
  • Problems and Challenges of Democratization 
  • Techniques of Statistical Analysis I 
  • Techniques of Statistical Analysis II 
  • The Construction of the EU and its Consequences on the European Population 
  • The current financial and economic crises and their impact on the social wellbeing of populations 


Module 4 (compulsory): Final Research Paper (20 ECTS)
Each student will be assigned a supervisor, chosen among all the professors of the programme (with the exception of the visiting professors).


See also: Academic structure for previous years


També et pot interessar