Web Content Display

Restoring a backup

 

At Duplicati’s main screen, select the restore option. You will be asked where do you want to restore data from. There are two default settings but you can also select the backup created in the previous section.

 

 

Restore direcly from a backup file

In this example we will restore the backup data we submitted on the first part of the tutorial. Since we stored our backup at Google Drive, we need to choose it as the type of storage and provide our AuthID. We can also specify the route on the server where the backup is located.

 

 

Next, we are asked to input the encryption password.

 

 

Click continue and after a few seconds, you will be able to see a list of the files to restore.

 

 

Select the files you want to restore and click on continue. In the next window, we can choose between different interesting options: We can restore the files to their original location or specify a new one. We can also decide if we want to overwrite the files or rename them including the date and time, and if we want to restore the read/write permissions.

 

 

Click the “Restore” button and the process will start.

 

Restore from a configuration

If we choose to restore from a configuration, we will land on a screen where we are asked to choose the configuration file and to provide the password (if needed), as seen in the image below.

 

 

Upon pressing “Import”, we are taken to a screen to review the settings regarding the location of the backup. If they are correct, upon pressing next, we are shown the encryption settings. Make sure everything is correct and then press “Connect”. After a few seconds, you will be able to see a list of the files to restore. Select the ones you would like to restore and press continue.

 

 

In the last screen, we can choose between if we want to restore the files to their original location or specify a new one. Furthermore, we can also choose if we would like overwrite the files or rename them including the date and time. We can also decide if we want to restore the read/write permissions. When ready, click the “Restore” button and the process will start.