Backup and Sync
Web Content Display
Google’s Backup & Sync will be the replacement of the giant’s Google Drive desktop application for both Mac and Windows.
*Note: Google Drive for Windows/Mac will no longer be supported as of December 11, 2017.
Backup and Sync allows users to do:
Sync your Google Drive folder
Sync other folders on your computer (Documents, Desktop... )
Sync USB devices and SD cards
Back up your photos and videos to Google Photos
Let us get started by downloading the app from Drive’s website.
Once the download is completed, open the installbackupandsync.exe file (or the *.dmg file if you are using Mac), follow the instructions on the screen to install Backup & Sync.
Now it is time to set up the application. The first time you launch the app, you are asked to sign in to your Google account. After that, you simply need to select the folders on your computer that you want to continually back up to Drive. This means that that all the files in the selected folders will be moved to the cloud right away.
After installation, the application will ask you to restart your computer. Do as it says and come back to continue with this tutorial.
With Backup & Sync installed, click on its icon and a window like the one on the following image should pop-up. Press the button with the three dots to access settings.
These are the default settings for Google Drive: ￼
But there are more things we can configure:
Photo and video upload size: You can choose the upload size of videos and images. You can upload them in their original size or in “High quality”. If you choose the first option, the images and videos you upload will count against your storage. However, the second option is free. This means that the content uploaded online won’t count against your Google account’s storage.
Removing items: This option allows you to choose how Backup and Sync behaves when deleting files. There are three options available:
Remove items everywhere: If this option is turned on, when you delete something on your computer, it will also automatically be deleted on Drive. It also works the other way around, so if you delete a file on Drive it will be deleted on your computer.
Don’t remove items everywhere: In this case, when you delete something on your computer, it will stay on Drive, and the other way around.
Ask me before removing items everywhere: If this last option is turned on, when you delete something on your computer, Backup & Sync will prompt a window asking if you want to delete it on Drive as well. This option also works the other way around.
Other settings: Backup & Sync has a few other settings available under the Google Drive options. These other settings will allow you to choose whether or not Backup & Sync will open when you turn on your computer, warnings, network and other. We recommend you make sure Backup & Sync opens whenever you turn on the
The following image depics what the Other settings tab looks like.
Restoring a delete file
To illustrate how this new application behaves with restoring data, go to your synced folder and create a new file (i.e. HelloWorld.py). Check that it is synced with your online storage. From your computer, locate and delete the file. This will launch a warning message like the following:
If you click “Restore”, the file will be automatically recovered. But you can also confirm its deletion.
The deleted file can be recovered via the Google Drive webclient. It should be in the trash folder. Once located, select the file and right-click with your mouse. Choose Restore and the file should be recovered in both the webclient and your computer.