The master's program is 60 ECTS. Modules I, II and III are compulsory common modules (10 ECTS each). Students must then choose three subjects (9 ECTS) among module IV optional courses. Finally, students will undertake compulsory research training (21 ECTS), from which 12ECTS correspond to the Research Seminar and 9ECTS to the Final Master Thesis. 


The master is taught entirely in English.

Exceptionally and after the Master's Comission agreement, the student can choose to study on a part-time basis (2 years). The only condition is to register for at least 30 ECTS on the first year and develop the master thesis during the second year.

Module I, II and III courses are 5 ECTS. Module IV courses are 3 ECTS.

Module I. Theory and Methodology (10 ECTS) 

  • The Foundations of Immigration Policies (Ricard Zapata)
  • Sources and Tools for the Analysis of Migrations (Xavier Ferrer)

Module II. Law and Economics (10 ECTS)

  • The Legal Framework for Migrations (Aida Torres and Sílvia Morgades)
  • Economics of Migrations (John Palmer)

 Module III. Politics and Society (10 ECTS)

Module IV. Optional courses (9 ECTS)

  • Qualitative Research Methods (Evren Yalaz)
  • Social psychological approaches to society and the individual (Verònica Benet-Martínez)
  • The Challenges of Interculturalism (Gemma Pinyol i Daniel de Torres)
  • Law of Asylum (Silvia Morgades - in Spanish)
  • Discourse Analysis, Racism and Immigration (Gema Rubio)
  • Management of Religious Pluralism (Camil Ungureanu and Avi Astor)
  • Employment Policies and Labour Market (Luis Ortíz)
  • Migration and Society (Pau Baizán)
  • Health and Inequality (Joan Benach)
  • Administration of Immigration*
  • Immigration and Education*
  • Research Tools*
  • Media Communication and Immigration*
  • The External Dimension of Immigration Policies*
  • Citizen and democracy in the EU
  • Network of Stakeholders*

* Not offered in 2016-2017