Back Commissioner for research in educational innovation

  • Comissioner: Davinia Hernández-Leo

Postal address

Universitat Pompeu Fabra 
Edifici Mercè
Carrer de la Mercè 12 
08002 Barcelona


Phone number: 93 542 20 00


The commissioner for research in educational innovation will have the following roles and responsibilities:

  • Create the centre for educational research.
  • Establish EDvolution scientific indicators.
  • Analyse and implement teaching data and prepare proposals for improvement.


Davinia Hernández-Leo is full professor of Engineering and Information and Communication Technologies and Serra Húnter Fellow at Universitat Pompeu Fabra, where she teaches and conducts research on human-centered computing, network and computer applications, and learning sciences. Specifically, her research is focused on the intersection of these fields, framed in the area of Learning and Collaboration Technologies. She is the head of the Interactive and Distributed Technologies for Education research group (TIDE).

She holds a PhD in Telecommunications Engineering from Universidad de Valladolid (2007), has been Fulbright Scholar at Virginia Tech and visiting researcher at the Open University of the Netherlands and the University of Sydney. She has been Vice-Dean of the UPF Engineering School and head of its Unit for Teaching Quality and Innovation.

In 2019 she obtained the ICREA Acadèmia award. She has published extensively (several awards), is very active in research supervision, in participation and lead of European and national research projects, and in collaborations with companies, non-profit organizations, policy makers and private foundations. She has been also awarded with several teaching recognitions (e.g., Vicens Vives by the Catalan Government).

She has been Vice-President of the European Association for Technology-Enhanced Learning, an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions of Learning Technologies, chair of the IEEE ICICLE SIG on Learning Technology Data Standards. She is currently member of the editorial board of the International Journal of Computer-Supported Collaborative Learning (CSCL), an elected member of the CSCL Committee within the International Society of the Learning Sciences, and member of the Steering Committee of the European Conference on Technology-Enhanced Learning.